facebook_pixel

The Devil Who Was an Angel

I love a book that can surprise me, and honestly I don't find too many that can. That's why I absolutely loved Carly Orosz's Devil Music. I expected a wham-bam, thank-you-ma'am thriller steeped in 80's hair metal culture, so when I was greeted with a thought-provoking and introspective literary journey, I was just blown away. Fans of Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Jonathan Safran Foer will love the tale of Cain, an imprisoned demon with a heart of gold, told in the lens of magical realism.

This novel also reminded me of Lolita, another of my favorite novels. No matter what your opinions are when picking that one up–and for almost every one, it's “child molester, nooooo!”–you can't help but feel compassion for Humbert Humbert as you follow him on his journey. Cain Pseudomantis is very much the same. Most people will start reading Devil Music by thinking “demon, baaaad,” but then fall in love with this novel's gentle, blue protagonist within a matter of pages.

Devil Music will flip the reader's expectations and keep them coming back for more as they see how a variety of subcultures within 1980's LA come to accept and appreciate Cain for his unusual and awe-inspiring talents, only one of which is making music.

Highly recommended for all fans of literary fiction!

About the book: Cain Pseudomantis leads a miserable life. Bound to the mortal world by a powerful spell no demon could hope to break, he must obey his human master’s every command or face harsh punishment. He finds solace in the rock music which he listens to when he isn’t running unsavory errands for his master. Then everything changes. While on a mission in a seedy section of 1980s Los Angeles, Cain impulsively buys an electric guitar and discovers an unusual talent for music, a talent that catapults him to hair metal stardom. With three superpowered human band mates and his beautiful girlfriend Michelle by his side, his life starts to look a lot better. But Cain soon finds that even rock stars have troubles. The crusading televangelist Nathaniel Breen—who happens to be Michelle’s father—accuses him of turning the city’s youth to Satan worship. Meanwhile a mysterious killer known only as the Engineer terrorizes the Los Angeles rock scene with a series of brutal murders. When Cain and his friends attempt to unmask the killer, they discover a deadly secret that could cost Cain his hard-won freedom, and possibly his life.Get Devil Music through Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or iTunes.

About the author: Carly Orosz lives in Kalamazoo, Michigan with her husband. She graduated from Kalamazoo College and went on to earn an MFA in poetry from Sarah Lawrence College. Her poetry has been published in Wavelength Journal and SpoutMagazine. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, weaving on a hand loom, and studying the art and cultures of pre-Columbian Mexico. Connect with Carly on her website, Facebook, Twitter,or GoodReads.

Leave a Comment: